The Girl from Felony Bay (Felony Bay Mysteries #1) (Paperback)

The Girl from Felony Bay (Felony Bay Mysteries #1) Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 21 2:45am
(FICTION)

Description


The Girl from Felony Bay is a fresh, vibrant, funny, and heartwarming debut in the vein of Sheila Turnage's Three Times Lucky and Clare Vanderpool's Moon over Manifest. Set on a southern plantation, it's about a young girl named Abbey, her best friend, Bee, and a hundred-year-old mystery.

The last year has been a rough one for Abbey Force. Her father has been in a coma since his accident, in which he was framed for a terrible crime he didn't commit. And their home, Reward Plantation, had to be sold to pay off his debt to society. So Abbey is stuck living with her Uncle Charlie, who isn't exactly an ideal role model. But things just got more interesting. The new family who moved in to Reward Plantation has a daughter named Bee, and she's just as curious as Abbey is about the No Trespassing signs and holes being dug out of Felony Bay. It seems like someone has been poking around a mystery that dates all the way back to the Civil War—and it just might be the same someone who framed Abbey's father.

Praise For…


“Thompson’s children’s book debut offers mystery and adventure, while simultaneously exploring the far reach of history, justice, race, and family. An ethically nuanced and suspenseful whodunit.”

“A tale bursting with intrigue and adventure finds its setting deep in the South Carolina Lowcountry. A successful turn by a promising new author.”

“A character in itself, the South Carolina setting is fully realized with the danger and beauty of its swampy backwoods a factor in every chapter. Future fans of Grisham will find this immensely satisfying, as will readers who were enchanted by Turnage’s Three Times Lucky.”

“The story never forgets that at its center is a little girl who has lost everything and is more determined than even Nancy Drew.”

“Thompson takes Southern gothic tropes and incorporates them into a fast-paced mystery with subplots that tackle tough issues.”

“The Girl from Felony Bay is a lovely story. J.E. Thompson has created a wonderful, honest character with a pitch-perfect young girl’s voice. Abbey Force’s tale will draw any reader in as she unravels long-buried mysteries and struggles to come to terms with the South’s dark past.”

“I was enthralled by this tale. It’s lyrical, touching, and beautifully written. A great debut.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062104472
ISBN-10: 0062104470
Publisher: Walden Pond Press
Publication Date: September 2nd, 2014
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Felony Bay Mysteries

Upcoming Events