Henry Holton Takes the Ice (Hardcover)

Upcoming Events

Henry Holton Takes the Ice Cover Image
By Sandra Bradley, Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Description


A lively hockey and ice dancing picture book in the tradition of Billy Elliot and The Sissy Duckling
Henry Holton’s whole family is hockey mad.  Everyone, that is, except Henry.  When he holds a hockey stick, Henry becomes a menace to the game—and an embarrassment to his sports-minded family.  It’s not until he sees his first ice dancing performance that Henry realizes there’s something he can do on the ice that doesn’t involve boarding and body checking.  Henry is ready to hang up his gear and try on some figure skates, but first he has to convince his hockey-obsessed family to let him follow his own path.

About the Author


Sandra Bradley lives near Kingston, Ontario, with her husband and three children. This is her debut children’s book. 

Sara Palacios is the recipient of the 2012 Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor Award.  A native of Mexico, Sara graduated from the National Institute of Fine Arts in Mexico City and went on to earn BFA and MFA degrees in Illustration from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco.

Praise For…


"Despite its icy setting, Bradley’s debut imparts a warm, encouraging message to kids feeling out of step with their families’ interests...Equal parts sensitive and comic, it’s a rewarding reminder that there’s more than one way to get in the game." —Publishers Weekly

"In her first picture book, Bradley tells a well-crafted, satisfying story in which Henry articulates his views,sticks to his guns, and wins in the end." —Booklist

"Both the illustrations—despite the ice, it has the warmth of pencil-and-wash artwork—and the story have a strong but unmenacing quality, neatly conveying an acceptance of Henry's inclinations and an appreciation of his talent. It doesn't matter what you do on the ice, suggests Bradley, just do it with a song in your heart." —Kirkus Reviews

"Kids will chuckle over the pileup Henry’s slick moves cause in a hockey games, and the protest poster (“Picks!”) he brings to the rink while on strike...Tykes fighting their own 'I gotta be me'battles, whatever the arena, will surely empathize."  —BCCB

"This is a wonderful story for students about being different from others; one that also demonstrates the love of family." —SLC

Product Details
ISBN: 9780803738560
ISBN-10: 0803738560
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2015
Pages: 40
Language: English